Pavillon Le Corbusier
Zürich's Pavillon Le Corbusier from 1967 is a synthesis of the oeuvre of one of the greatest modern architects and artists. It was initiated and financed by Heidi Weber. Since 2014 it has been owned by the city of Zurich, which continues to run it as a unique museum dedicated to the work of the Swiss-born designer.
Architect, urban planner, painter, sculptor and furniture designer Le Corbusier, born on October 6 1887 in La Chaux-de-Fonds, is one of Switzerland’s most important artists of the 20th century. Zürich’s Pavillon Le Corbusier, inaugurated in 1967, two years after his death, is his last realised design, his only building in steel and glass and his only carried out project in the German-speaking part of Switzerland. Le Corbusier conceived the pavilion as an exhibition building for his multifaceted work as well as an example of an ideal residential house. The filigree building with its distinctive floating roof is an outstanding piece of architecture from the late modernist period and is a crowning finale to Le Corbusier’s work. The project was initiated and financed by gallery owner and interior designer Heidi Weber.
Each season an exhibition takes place around Le Corbusier’s sphere of activity on the lower floor of the pavilion. For summer 2017, the pavilion will for the first time hold two exhibitions.
Opening hours in 2017
3 May to 1 October 2017
Wed to Sun: 12 pm to 6 pm (Thu to 8 pm)
Mon and Tue: closed
CHF 12 (reduced: CHF 8)