Global Navigation

Back to the original version in German.

Economic Development

Aussicht_Waid_13_0075

Economic development strengthens the dialogue between politics, administration and business and is committed to good framework conditions. It promotes young entrepreneurship and supports projects that strengthen the future viability of the location and make it visible in the national and international environment.

Economic development attaches great importance to sustainable urban development. It is committed to ensuring that the economy is given greater consideration and involvement in order to achieve the sustainability goals of the City of Zurich.

Dialogue Between Politics and Economy

We maintain regular exchange between the economic actors in Zurich and the city's politics and administration. Thanks to the direct contacts, the city is familiar with the challenges and needs of the economy and can take them into account appropriately in urban projects and processes. At the same time, it can inform the economy about planned projects of the city

Meetings

We regularly organise meetings and debates between the City Council or a delegation of the City Council with various industries on current challenges and topics.

Contact Lunches

We organise contact lunches several times a year, at which representatives of an industry can exchange ideas with the entire city council and members of the administration as part of a standing lunch.

RIA (Regulatory Impact Assessment) and SME Focal Point

On the basis of the "Ordinance on the Improvement of the Framework Conditions for SMEs" and the anchoring of the RIA (Regulatory Impact Assessment) in the municipal constitution, the city council examines its business for its compatibility for SMEs. With the SME contact point , there is a corresponding information portal for economic development.

Economic framework conditions and impulses

In cooperation with the Socio-spatial Unit in the context of urban development, the Economic Development Unit contributes the economic perspective in urban committees and strategy processes (e.g. circular economy, net zero, environmental strategy, mobility and urban spaces 2050) and represents in cooperation with the Area of  Foreign affairs the city's interests at national and international level. It thus creates good framework conditions and sets impulses for a diverse and sustainable development of Zurich as a business location.

Event Committee

The economic development unit manages the office of the event committee, which is composed of representatives of the service departments of urban development, culture, sports office and city police. The main tasks of the committee are the examination and solution finding for controversial applications as well as the consideration of an overall perspective on the event landscape in the city.

Film Commission Zurich

Born from a pilot project of the economic development with the local film industry, the association Film Commission supports filmmakers with the filming in the city of Zurich. Film commission provides information on local conditions and logistics services and provides contacts to the local film industry and the authorities.

Made in Zurich Initiative

Together with partners from the private sector, Stadtentwicklung Zürich has founded the association Made in Zürich Initiative . The Made in Zurich initiative promotes production in the city of Zurich, gives urban producers of all sizes and colours a platform and creates an official designation of origin with "Made in Zurich".

Startups and Entrepreneurship

The Economic Development Unit supports start-ups and entrepreneurship through numerous partner organisations, which were co-initiated and set up by the city. The Economic Development Agency represents the City of Zurich in the strategic management bodies of these organisations.

Bluelion Foundation

The Bluelion Foundation supports entrepreneurs in the early stages of setting up their start-up with targeted coaching and programmes. Bluelion focuses on the ICT, digital health, cleantech and fintech sectors as well as on those interested in starting a business with professional experience (non-academic environment).

Genossenschaft Startzentrum Zürich

The Genossenschaft Startzentrum Zürich is the competence centre for start-ups and start-ups in the Canton of Zurich. It offers consulting, organizes events and workshops and operates an online platform with a digital guide to starting a company.

Association «GO! Goal independent»

The association «GO! Goal independent" advises young companies and supports company start-ups and business development with microcredits up to a maximum of CHF 40,000.

Glatec

The Economic Development Unit is a member of  glatec association. It operates an incubator at Empa and Eawag in Dübendorf to facilitate and support start-ups and innovation processes in the field of materials science and environmental sciences.

Other useful offers for start-ups, companies and founders:

  • Raumbörse: The Raumbörse Dynamo rents out rooms in several buildings in the city of Zurich at favourable conditions. Some of the rooms are rented exclusively to teenagers and young adults up to the age of 28.
  • Ökokompass: On behalf of the Environmental and Health Protection of Zurich, the Ökokompass provides consulting services for small to medium-sized enterprises based in the city of Zurich.
  • Gruenden.ch: this site offers online information and tools that make it easier to get your own business.

Further services for companies:

  • Information about Corona: Companies, employers and employees can find information on open questions or support options here . The website is constantly updated.
  • Immo-Mail:  If you are looking for a commercial property, we will be happy to forward your real estate request to around 80 of the leading real estate companies in the city of Zurich. Please note that we can only offer this service from a net area of 500 square meters. Comprehensive information on the subject of real estate can be found on the page Property Search and Real Estate Market of the Canton of Zurich.

Location promotion and events

Through its membership in location marketing organizations and its activities in favor of a varied event landscape, the Economic Development Agency is committed to a successful positioning of Zurich in the international location competition of cities and metropolises and the better perception of Zurich's location at home and abroad.

Greater Zurich Area

The international marketing for the business location and the settlement of companies is carried out by the Greater Zurich Area AG (GZA). The City of Zurich is represented on the Board of Trustees and the Board of Directors of the AG and supports the settlement process with the economic development at the operational level.

Zürich Tourism

Zurich as a travel and conference destination is marketed by Zürich Tourism . Urban development represents the interests of the City of Zurich on the Board of Management of Zürich Tourism.

Supported event

Scientifica - Science and the City: The "Scientifica" is an established event of ETH Zurich and the University of Zurich. It strengthens Zurich as a research location and raises awareness among the people of Zurich about the importance of science. With changeable and expandable formats, the "Scientifica" is aimed at the interested public. With the new "Science and the City" format for the previous week, the City of Zurich became involved as an event partner for the first time in 2021 on the initiative of economic development. The previous week's programme emphasises the transfer of knowledge between science and industry and emphasises the added value for a sustainable life in the city. 

Various municipal partner institutions and service departments present current projects that are related to city life, science and business in line with the respective focus of "Scientifica". Visitors are to be introduced to the various areas of activity of the city in an experience-oriented and comprehensible way. 

Industry Clusters

Thematically, the Economic Development Unit focuses its activities on high-value-added or high-growth, innovative and promising clusters. These are currently the clusters Cleantech, Financial Services, Information and Communication Technology, Creative IndustriesLife Sciences and Tourism.

Cluster key figures, City of Zurich (2018)

 WorkplacesEmployeesFull-time equivalents
Cleantech485737 79033 172
Financial services233761 18055 151
ICT234532 61529 887
Creative industries10 20956 70742 405
Life Sciences36344483813
Tourism194127 67920 593
City of Zurich Economy45 057491 193380 169
Canton of Zurich Economy as a whole119 8081 045 222810 432

City and total economy (2018)

Tooltip: percentage share of total economy city of Zurich and absolute figures city

City and Canton (2018)

Tooltip: percentage share of cantonal cluster and absolute figures city

Comparison of the city of Zurich and the rest of the canton (2018)

Tooltip: Comparison in percentage and absolute figures

Development of clusters and overall economy City of Zurich, 2012 to 2018

Source: Statistical Office of the Canton of Zurich

more information

Contact

Global Navigation

Wirtschaftsförderung

stadt-zuerich.ch/wirtschaft
Aussicht_Waid_13_0075

Die Wirtschaftsförderung verstärkt den Dialog zwischen Politik, Verwaltung und Wirtschaft und setzt sich für gute Rahmenbedingungen ein. Sie fördert das Jungunternehmertum und unterstützt Projekte, die die Zukunftsfähigkeit des Standorts stärken und ihn im nationalen und internationalen Umfeld sichtbar machen. 

Die Wirtschaftsförderung misst der nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung einen hohen Stellenwert bei. Sie setzt sich dafür ein, dass die Wirtschaft stärker berücksichtigt und eingebunden wird, um die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Stadt Zürich zu erreichen. 

Dialog Politik – Wirtschaft

Die Wirtschaftsförderung pflegt den regelmässigen Austausch zwischen den Wirtschaftsakteurinnen und -akteuren am Standort Zürich und der städtischen Politik und Verwaltung. Dank den direkten Kontakten kennt die Stadt die Herausforderungen und Bedürfnisse der Wirtschaft und kann diese bei städtischen Vorhaben und Prozessen angemessen berücksichtigen. Gleichzeitig kann sie die Wirtschaft über geplante Vorhaben der Stadt informieren

Aussprachen

Die Wirtschaftsförderung organisiert regelmässig Treffen und Aussprachen zwischen dem Stadtrat oder einer Delegation des Stadtrats mit verschiedenen Branchen zu aktuellen Herausforderungen und Themen.

Kontakt-Lunches

Die Wirtschaftsförderung organisiert mehrmals pro Jahr Kontakt-Lunches, bei welchen Vertreterinnen und Vertreter einer Branche sich im Rahmen eines Stehlunches mit dem Gesamtstadtrat und Mitgliedern der Verwaltung austauschen können.

RFA (Regulierungsfolgeabschätzung) und Anlaufstelle KMU

Auf Basis der «Verordnung über die Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für KMU» und der Verankerung der RFA (Regulierungsfolgeabschätzung) in der Gemeindeordnung prüft der Stadtrat seine Geschäfte auf ihre Verträglichkeit für KMU. Mit der Anlaufstelle KMU besteht bei der Wirtschaftsförderung ein entsprechendes Informationsportal.

Wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen und Impulse

Die Wirtschaftsförderung bringt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bereich Gesellschaft & Raum im Rahmen der Stadtentwicklung die wirtschaftliche Perspektive in städtischen Gremien und Strategieprozessen ein (u.a. Kreislaufwirtschaft, Netto-Null, Umweltstrategie, Mobilität und Stadträume 2050) und vertritt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bereich Aussenbeziehungen die städtischen Interessen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Sie schafft damit gute Rahmenbedingungen und setzt Impulse für eine vielfältige und nachhaltige Entwicklung des Wirtschaftsstandortes Zürich.

Veranstaltungsorgan

Die Wirtschaftsförderung führt die Geschäftsstelle des Veranstaltungsorgans, welches sich aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Dienstabteilungen Stadtentwicklung, Kultur, Sportamt und Stadtpolizei zusammensetzt. Die Hauptaufgaben des Organs sind die inhaltliche Prüfung und Lösungsfindung bei umstrittenen Gesuchen sowie die Berücksichtigung einer Gesamtperspektive über die Eventlandschaft in der Stadt.

Wirtschaftsdelegation des Stadtrates

Die Wirtschaftsförderung ist für die Geschäftsführung der Wirtschaftsdelegation des Stadtrates und deren Stab verantwortlich. Die Wirtschaftsdelegation bereitet wichtige wirtschaftspolitische Aktivitäten und strategische Entscheide zuhanden des Stadtrats vor und koordiniert die wirtschaftspolitische Kommunikation der Stadt. Unter anderem ist sie für die Koordination der wirtschaftlichen Massnahmen zur Bewältigung der Covid-19-Pandemie zuständig.

Film Commission Zurich

Entstanden aus einem Pilotprojekt der Wirtschaftsförderung mit der lokalen Filmbranche unterstützt der Verein Film Commission Filmschaffende bei den Dreharbeiten in der Stadt Zürich. Die Filmcom stellt Informationen zu den örtlichen Rahmenbedingungen und Logistik-Dienstleistungen zur Verfügung und vermittelt Kontakte zur lokalen Filmbranche und zu den Behörden.

Made in Zürich Initiative

Die Stadtentwicklung Zürich hat zusammen mit Partnerinnen und Partnern aus der Privatwirtschaft den Verein Made in Zürich Initiative gegründet. Die Made in Zürich Initiative fördert die Produktion in der Stadt Zürich, gibt urbanen Produzentinnen und Produzenten jeglicher Grösse und Couleur eine Plattform und schafft mit «Made in Zürich» eine offizielle Herkunftsbezeichnung.

Startups und Unternehmertum

Die Wirtschaftsförderung unterstützt Startups und das Unternehmertum via zahlreiche Partnerorganisationen, welche von der Stadt mitinitiiert und aufgebaut wurden. Die Wirtschaftsförderung vertritt die Stadt Zürich in den strategischen Führungsorganen dieser Organisationen. 

Stiftung Bluelion

Die Stiftung Bluelion unterstützt Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer in der frühen Phase beim Aufbau ihres Startups mit gezielten Coachings und Programmen. Dabei fokussiert Bluelion auf die Branchen ICT, Digital Health, Cleantech und Fintech sowie auf Gründungsinteressierte mit Berufserfahrung (nicht-akademisches Umfeld). Im Rahmen der Entwicklung des Life Science und Gesundheitstandorts Zürich, bietet die Digital Health Initiave eine Plattform für den gemeinsamen Austausch und die Förderung innovativer Lösungen.

Genossenschaft Startzentrum Zürich

Die Genossenschaft Startzentrum Zürich ist das Kompetenzzentrum für Gründende und Jungunternehmen im Kanton Zürich. Sie bietet Beratungen an, organisiert Events und Workshops und betreibt eine Onlineplattform mit einem digitalen Leitfaden zur Gründung einer Firma.

Verein «GO! Ziel selbstständig»

Der Verein «GO! Ziel selbstständig» berät Jungunternehmende und unterstützt Firmengründungen und Geschäftsentwicklungen mit Mikrokrediten bis maximal 40 000 Franken.

Glatec

Die Wirtschaftsförderung ist Mitglied des Fördervereins glatec. Dieser betreibt an der Empa und der Eawag in Dübendorf einen Inkubator, um Unternehmensgründungen und Innovationsprozesse im Bereich der Materialwissenschaften und Umweltwissenschaften zu erleichtern und zu unterstützen.

Weitere nützliche Angebote für Startups, Unternehmen und Gründungswillige:

  • Raumbörse: Die Raumbörse Dynamo vermietet in mehreren Gebäuden in der Stadt Zürich Räume zu günstigen Konditionen. Einen Teil der Räume wird ausschliesslich an Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene bis 28 Jahre vermietet.
  • Ökokompass: Der Ökokompass erbringt im Auftrag des Umwelt- und Gesundheitsschutzes Zürich Beratungsleistungen für die in der Stadt Zürich ansässigen kleinen bis mittleren Unternehmungen.
  • Gruenden.ch: diese Seite bietet Online-Informationen und Hilfsmittel, die den Weg zum eigenen Unternehmen erleichtern.

Weitere Dienstleistungsangebote für Unternehmen:

  • Information Corona: Unternehmen, Arbeitgebende und Arbeitnehmende finden hier Informationen bezüglich offenen Fragen oder Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten. Die Website wird laufend aktualisiert.
  • Immo-Mail: Falls Sie auf der Suche nach einer Geschäftsimmobilie sind, leiten wir Ihre Immobilien-Anfrage gerne an rund 80 der führenden Real-Estate-Unternehmen der Stadt Zürich weiter. Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir diese Dienstleistung erst ab einer Nettofläche von 500 Quadratmetern anbieten können. Umfassende Informationen zum Thema Immobilien finden Sie auf der Seite Immobiliensuche und Immobilienmarkt des Kantons Zürich.

Standortpromotion und Veranstaltungen

Durch ihre Mitgliedschaft in Standortmarketing Organisationen und ihren Aktivitäten zugunsten einer abwechslungsreichen Eventlandschaft engagiert sich die Wirtschaftsförderung für eine erfolgreiche Positionierung Zürichs im internationalen Standortwettbewerb der Städte und der Metropolen und die bessere Wahrnehmung des Standorts Zürichs im In- und Ausland.

Greater Zurich Area

Das internationale Marketing für den Wirtschaftsstandort und die Ansiedlung von Unternehmen erfolgt durch die Greater Zurich Area AG (GZA). Die Stadt Zürich ist im Stiftungsrat und im Verwaltungsrat der AG vertreten und unterstützt mit der Wirtschaftsförderung auf operativer Ebene den Ansiedlungsprozess.

Zürich Tourismus

Zürich als Reise- und Konferenzdestination wird von Zürich Tourismus vermarktet. Die Stadtentwicklung nimmt die Interessen der Stadt Zürich im Vorstand von Zürich Tourismus wahr.

Eventförderung im Bereich Stadtentwicklung

Basierend auf dem Stadtratsbeschluss Nr. 091/2020 hat die Wirtschaftsförderung ein Konzept zur Eventförderung im Bereich Stadtentwicklung erarbeitet, mit welchem für eine Pilotphase bis 2024 finanzielle Anreize geschaffen werden, damit bedeutende Events im Bereich Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Smart City in Zürich entstehen oderwachsen können. Als erstes Pilotprojekt wurden die Wissenschaftstage «Scientifica» unterstützt. Im Rahmen des neuen Vorwochenformats «Science and the City» engagierte sich die Stadt Zürich auf Initiative der Wirtschaftsförderung erstmalig im 2021 als Veranstaltungspartnerin.

Branchencluster

Thematisch fokussiert die Wirtschaftsförderung ihre Aktivitäten auf wertschöpfungs- oder wachstumsstarke, innovative und zukunftsträchtige Cluster. Dies sind aktuell die Cluster Cleantech, Finanzdienstleistungen, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie, KreativwirtschaftLife Sciences und Tourismus.

Cluster-Kennzahlen, Stadt Zürich (2018)

 ArbeitsstättenBeschäftigeVollzeitäquivalente
Cleantech485737 79033 172
Finanzdienstleistungen233761 18055 151
ICT234532 61529 887
Kreativwirtschaft10 20956 70742 405
Life Sciences36344483813
Tourismus194127 67920 593
Stadt Zürich Gesamtwirtschaft45 057491 193380 169
Kanton Zürich Gesamtwirtschaft119 8081 045 222810 432

Stadt und Gesamtwirtschaft (2018)

Tooltipp: prozentualer Anteil an der Gesamtwirtschaft Stadt Zürich und absolute Zahlen Stadt

Stadt und Kanton (2018)

Tooltipp: prozentualer Anteil am kantonalen Cluster und absolute Zahlen Stadt

Gegenüberstellung Stadt Zürich und übriger Kanton (2018)

Tooltipp: Gegenüberstellung prozentual und in absoluten Zahlen

Entwicklung Cluster und Gesamtwirtschaft Stadt Zürich, 2012 bis 2018

Quelle: Statistisches Amt des Kantons Zürich

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt